For All The Historic Reasons : Vishrambaug Wada!

I always have an urge to visit historical places. This might also come from the fact that I am from Jaipur, which itself has so many forts and palaces. Here I was in Pune, so I wanted to check out Vishrambaug Wada.

Vishrambaug Wada

Vishrambaug Wada | Image Resource : wordpress.com

Next morning, I was prepared for another historic place visit, but I first need a little boost before actually going out. So I took my clothes off and jumped into the hotel swimming pool for a little swimming session. After refreshing, I was ready for my next destination, Vishrambaug Wada, a royal mansion with a historic touch. Again, I decided to walk as it was not so far from my hotel.

On my way, I saw a famous restaurant called Ganaraj Pure Veg which is known for its Pav Bhaji. After checking certain things on the internet, I finally decided to go and check out the restaurant. I had Pav Bhaji, but I what I really liked was the ambiance of the place. But going to that restaurant was a good decision as I made a new companion friend who just like me, was a traveler and a history lover.

SMILE: The NGO-run shop at Vishrambaug Wada

SMILE: The NGO-run shop at Vishrambaug Wada | Image Resource : wordpress.com

After a nice breakfast and a small chitter-chatter with my new friend, I again started walking towards Vishrambaug Wada, but this time with a companion. As we were placing our final footsteps towards the big Castle, I started getting a princely feel. It is quite amazing how your persona can change when you enter different places.

Vishrambaug Wada Pune

Vishrambaug Wada Pune | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

This place was built for the mighty king Bajirao II. It is spread across 20,000 square feet of land and was built in 1807. The Wada is more like a huge house, and one can notice woodwork in the balconies. Despite being so old, it still has a royal touch with luxurious rooms, although, a lot of money was spent on its maintenance and restoration. It also houses a small museum which has Maratha artefacts on display.

Vishrambaug

Vishrambaug | Image Resource : nwn.in

Vishrambaug Wada actually displays the simplicity of Maratha warriors and how rooted they were. After a big photo session, I and my new friend came back to our hotels with a promise of meeting again tomorrow for another historic visit.

Leave a Reply

