Great Rann of Kutch – A Perfect Place For Tranquility

It was the fifth and last day of our stay in Gujarat. As slowly the time had passed, I was feeling nostalgic regarding the state. I was not feeling happy as I was about to leave Gujarat and work was waiting for me on the other hand. But on the other hand, I was happy that I made it possible to make a visit to the state.

Map of Gujarat showing the Great Rann of Kutch and Little Rann of Kutch

Map of Gujarat showing the Great Rann of Kutch and Little Rann of Kutch | Image Resource : Wikipedia.org

As it was the last day of my stay in Gujarat, I and friends planned a visit to the Great Rann of Kutch. I had read about the Rann of Kutch in my geography books during my school days and I had tried to reach out to some websites for learning more about the place. As I visited it myself, words fell short to describe the beauty of the place. The place is a great confluence of the merger of desert in one side and vast sea on the other. Around 10,000 square kilometers of land are covered by the marshy land mass. The Rann of Kutch is divided into Little Rann and Great Rann of Kutch.

Great Rann of Kutch

Great Rann of Kutch | Image Resource : photographyenthusiasts.wordpress.com

The Great Rann of Kutch is known to be the largest salt desert in the world by spanning to more than 7505 square kilometers in length. You can also find a large variety of flora and fauna and asset of colorful migratory birds flying charmingly in the open clouds. The place is known for the panoramic view it provides and many strollers are seen enjoying quality time. Winters are the perfect times when one can enjoy the most striking features of the Great Rann of Kutch as the area turn pinkish in color and becomes a central point of attraction.

Little Rann of Kutch

Little Rann of Kutch | Image Resource : flickr.com

The Little Rann of Kutch on the other hand spreads across an area of 4953 square kilometers and brownish grey colored soil creates a marshy effect in the surrounding. Khur or Indian Wild Ass was is found here and hence it is the only place where this endangered species is found. Several other unique species of animals and birds are seen here which are truly a treat for the eyes.

Leave a Reply

